Governors are appointed for a period of 4 years.
On 2nd February 2016 all governing bodies were reconstituted and were given a new period of office from that date.


Mr Jeremy Gilmour

Chair, Co-opted Governor

I am the Chair of the Governing Body and a member of the Finance & Buildings and Pupil  Progress & Welfare Committees. I work with the Head, the staff and the rest of the  Governors to help with the running of the school.  Outside of school I work as a Commercial and Contract Manager. 

If you have any questions for the Governing Body then  please contact me.  

Commenced Feb 2016

Mr Andrew Beattie






Commenced September 2016



Mrs Sue Richardson

Vice Chair, Community Governor

I am the Vice Chair to the Governors and, being a Chartered Management Accountant,  I have taken the role of Chair to the Finance & buildings Committee. I have also taken  a specific interest in monitoring the attainment and Achievement of Year 6 and Pupil Premium Funding.

Commenced Feb 2016

Revd Robert Jackson
Rector of the Parish, Ex Officio Foundation Governor

Mrs Margaret Goddard
Foundation Governor
I am chair of the Pupil Progress and Welfare Committee.  Being a retired minister in  the Church of England I am able to lead an occassional act of Collective Worship or be  involved in RE lessons. On a weekly basis I listen to individual pupils reading. 

Commenced Feb 2016

 Mrs Tracy McGrady​
 Foundation Governor

Mrs Wendy McGrane
Community Governor


Commenced Feb 2016 

Mr Ian Cutts
Co-Opted Governor


Commenced Feb 2016 

Mr Phil Bodman
Parent Governor
In my Governor’s role I am a member of the Pupil Progress and Welfare Committee.
I am a Systems Engineer working at Westlakes Science Park.  


Commenced Feb 2016

Dianne Jackson
Non Teaching Staff Governor
I am the staff governor. I have been involved with St James Junior School since the first of my three children started school here. I started working at the school in 2007 and I work in various roles throughout the school. 



Commenced Feb 2016

Eileen Weir
L.A. Governor


Commenced Feb 2016 


Contact Us

Please direct all enquiries to Mrs A Bragg at the school office:

Telephone 01946 695311 or email

Headteacher: Mr Andrew Beattie

St James' Church of England Junior School. Wellington Row, Whitehaven, Cumbria CA28 7HG